Reckless Driving Lawyer in Chesapeake
Professional Reckless Driving Attorneys in Chesapeake
We’re reckless driving attorneys that serve Chesapeake, Virginia. Partner with our firm to get help from trusted reckless driving lawyers in Chesapeake.
What is a Reckless Driving Charge in Chesapeake?
Whether you’re a resident of Chesapeake or you’re just passing through, it’s all too easy to get a Chesapeake reckless driving charge. The Virginia reckless driving code section defines reckless driving this way: “Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.”
Just how serious is a reckless driving charge in Chesapeake, Virginia? Virginia categorizes reckless driving as a Class 1 criminal misdemeanor charge. In other words, Virginia treats reckless driving charges like DUI charges! Since it is a misdemeanor, you will receive a summons to appear at the General District Court in Chesapeake.
If you find yourself facing a Chesapeake reckless driving charge, we can help! Get started with the team of professionals here at Peter Louie Law today. Click here to schedule a free consultation with a Chesapeake reckless driving lawyer.
How Can You Get Charged for Reckless Driving in Chesapeake?
- Reckless Driving by Speed (For going 20 mph or more above the speed limit or driving above 85 mph)
- Reckless Driving for Endangering Life and Limb (Reckless Driving Generally)
- Reckless Driving for Improper Brakes or Failure to Maintain Control of a Vehicle
- Reckless Driving for Passing a School Bus
- Reckless Driving for Driving Two Abreast in a Single Lane
- Reckless Driving for Passing Two Cars Abreast
- Reckless Driving for Passing a Stationary Emergency Vehicle With Flashing Lights
- Reckless Driving For Racing
- Reckless Driving for Failure to Yield
- Reckless Driving for Failing to Give Proper Signals
What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Chesapeake?
A Chesapeake reckless driving charge can carry penalties such as:
- Up to one year of jail time
- A fine of up to $2,500
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 6 months
Additionally, if you hold a Virginia license, a reckless driving conviction puts 6 negative points on your record. Those points stay on your record for 11 years. A conviction will also result in a criminal misdemeanor on your record, which can negatively impact employment opportunities, military clearances, and insurance premiums. If you are wondering if you really need a Chesapeake reckless driving lawyer, read this article.
We are Highly Rated Reckless Driving Lawyers in Chesapeake
While there are many reckless driving attorneys in Chesapeake, we set ourselves apart by zealously defending our clients and treating them as individuals. Don’t just hire any reckless driving attorney in Chesapeake. Instad, hire a law firm that has experience defending clients charged with reckless driving. Since Peter John Louie, P.C. was established in 2011, we have defended more than 5,000 clients charged with reckless driving and received more than 200 five star reviews on Google and other sites. Let us put our expertise to work for you as your reckless driving lawyers in Chesapeake. Click here to see some of our results in Chesapeake!
Partner With a Reliable Chesapeake Reckless Driving Lawyer
Having support in your Chesapeake reckless driving case is essential. Don’t wait to get the support and assistance you need. Contact our team of Chesapeake reckless driving attorneys today. Click here or call 757-932-0464 to schedule a free consultation today, and let us be your Chesapeake reckless driving attorneys.