What are the fines and court costs that I can expect for a conviction of reckless driving?
Assuming that you are convicted of reckless driving, and you are unable to get a reduced conviction for a non-criminal misdemeanor offense (such as improper driving or speeding), the court will impose a fine and court costs on you as part of your sentence.
While the Virginia code allows a judge to impose a fine of up to $2,500.00 for reckless driving, I typically see fines between $300.00 and $500.00. Court costs are usually around $86.00. Typically, fines are higher when high speeds are involved. But this is not always the case. Recently, I had two cases with speeds over 110 mph in a 55 mph posted zone, where the fines were only $250.00 and $350.00. Perhaps because jail time was ordered, the judge thought a heightened fine would not be necessary to punish my client. We appealed one of those cases because my client thought we could get a better on the outcome in the Circuit Court.
Below is a sampling of recent cases where my client was convicted of reckless driving along with the fines that were assessed.
*DISCLAIMER – EACH CASE IS UNIQUE AND CASE RESULTS DEPEND ON YOUR INDIVIDUAL SITUATION. CASE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER.
- Virginia Beach General District Court: RD 86/55, Fine of $350.
- Virginia Beach GDC: RD 78/55. Fine of $170. (Client did not produce driving record after several continuances.)
- Virginia Beach GDC: 98/55. Fine of $1000 with $500 of it suspended since client plead no contest.
- Virginia Beach GDC: 115/55. Fine of $350.
- York General District Court: RD 86/65. Fine of $300. (Bad driving record prevented reduction of charge.)
- Norfolk General District Court: RD accident. Fine of $250.
- Norfolk GDC: RD – accident. Fine of $500.
- Norfolk GDC: RD 112/55. Fine of $250.
- Newport News General District Court: RD 90/65. Fine of $200.
- Newport News GDC: RD 96/60. Fine of $750.
If you are unhappy with the outcome of your case, because of a conviction of reckless driving, the amount of jail time given, fines assessed, or a suspended driver’s license, you should talk to an attorney immediately since time is of the essence and you have the right to appeal your case within ten days of your conviction date. An attorney can tell you what your odds are on appeal and help you make an informed decision. If you have not had your case tried by the General District Court yet, you would be wise to hire an attorney to do battle on your behalf.