May I use a Radar Detector in Virginia?

If you have seen the signs on the Virginia border, you know that radar detectors are illegal in Virginia.  Va. Code § 46.2-1079 explains: It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle on the highways of the Commonwealth when such vehicle is equipped...

Reckless Driving for Passing a School Bus

A driver that passes a school bus can be charged with reckless driving under Va. Code § 46.2-859.  Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor.  This means a disposition could include a potential fine of up to $2,500, and a potential jail sentence of up to 12 months....

Can I Text While Driving in Virginia?

A better question is, should I text while driving in Virginia?  Texting while driving in Virginia is a secondary offense codified in Va Code § 46.2-1078.1.  It states: A. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a moving motor vehicle on the highways in the...